Need a novel buddy! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 09-02-2006, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone,

I've never posted here before, but...

I'm writing a novel, my first attempt. I've been doing this for - oh - five years? However, I just submitted my first academic article, and that took me 5 years as well. So I know I can do it. I just don't get as much done in other parts of life, like cleaning the bathtub. But I don't mind a messy bathtub.

But I need deadlines! Pressure! That's how I work. I suspect that my dd might drop her nap at 2, so I'd like to be feeling done by then (that's when I like to write).

So. I have 60 pages of "stuff". I'd like to be done a first draft by February-ish, then revise for another 6 months, then submit it next September.

Does this sound like your time frame? Want to be my writing check-in and nagging and editing buddy? I'd love it!

Tricia, treehugger.gif wild.gif geek.gif mama of dd (6) 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 15 Old 09-03-2006, 01:34 AM

Hi Tricia! I'm working on a novel too. I starting processing it about 6 yrs ago, but really it was more like 4 yrs ago that I got the gist of what I wanted to write about. I have 2 chapters about 80% done, and the third one started, but a Loooong way from even 50% for that one. Anyway, I'd love to nag atcha! Will you nag back I hope so. I get a lot done in bursts, I'm not as good at the sit and write for 45 min every day thing. Kinda sucky, but some days my 19 mo is just not into napping, but boy is he ever grumpy/clingy/whiney/dependent! So on good days I sometimes write, on bad days I don't. That's sorta my thing. My time frame may be a bit longer - I am hoping to have something to submit by the time he is 3. I think realistically that'll work for me...if I can keep up writing in bursts 2-3 times a week.

keep talking!!!

Mama to B and O , wife to J and me to me! :
#3 of 15 Old 09-03-2006, 09:49 AM