How to get started-- I want to write! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 04-01-2008, 02:34 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been writing poems and songs consistently since I was 12 (9 years). I love doing that, but would love to branch out. I've come up with some great, unique concepts for books, but can never seem to get to the plot details. I burn out too easily.

I would love to hear from some fiction writers in here, whether it's novels or short stories. How do you do it? When you come up with a great idea, what do you do next? Help me out!

I'm a modifiedartist.gif DH is a reading.gif we have 2 angel.gifs, and DS is a rainbow1284.gif baby.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 04-02-2008, 06:05 AM

This might sound simplistic, but here's what I do: I write. Everything. I have a bunch of different notebooks that I fill up with ideas, observations, complaints, snippets of dialog, scenes that would be great in novels.... just everything.

Now here's why: writing everything has made writing a natural part of my daily life. I don't struggle with getting started because I'm always going. When I get a good idea, I'm ready to run with it, and having the back-catalog of written odds and ends gives me something to work with to flesh out my bigger story ideas. HTH and best of luck to you
#3 of 8 Old 04-02-2008, 09:54 PM

great idea on the notebook of plots,etc. typingmarie! I use my computer mostly but the notebook might help me..

I just started writing fiction (short stories) so I am just pretty much :

Blissful Mama to DD-(5), DS-(6) and someone new due in November!
#4 of 8 Old 04-02-2008, 10:58 PM

I am watching this thread as well.

I am wanting to write a book about infertility and IVF from a medical standpoint and also from someone who has been through it.

Three boys.  jumpers.gif
#5 of 8 Old 04-05-2008, 02:59 AM - Thread Starter

I'm also considering starting a zine!