Submissions ettiquette question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 06-09-2008, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm new to all of this and I have a question about submitting articles for print mags. If I have an article to submit is it considered acceptable to submit it to multiple magazines at one time? With how long it takes to get an answer from magazines it seems like it would be a good idea to do that rather that submitting them serially, but I don't know how magazines look upon you for doing that.
#2 of 7 Old 06-10-2008, 12:20 AM

I believe this is usually frowned upon and not good ettiquette. I can see why, since a magazine could buy exclusive rights, they wouldn't want anyone else to have the option. Also, you would then have to contact the other places you submitted to let them know that it was sold.

One tip I read about (and have yet to do, but I intend to!) is to get a submission ready to go to however many magazines you want to send it to. Then, pick your first choice, mail it and wait. If you get back a rejection, you've got it already to go to your second choice and you simply need to drop it in the mail. And so on.
#3 of 7 Old 06-10-2008, 03:22 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks. That's what I thought, but I guess I was hoping it might be different.
#4 of 7 Old 06-10-2008, 10:16 PM

Simultaneous submissions are pretty much the norm these days - providing you are talking about article query and not a completed article.

Pretty much the only time you would send a completed article is if you are sending an essay for a specific department or in some cases shopping around a reprint. Other than that you should be sending a query, which you target for a specific market but can still send to as many mags as you like.
#5 of 7 Old 06-11-2008, 12:03 AM