Creating a worskhop for single mothers/ advice? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 08-18-2008, 02:31 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(cross posted in single mothers)

I'm creating a writing workshop for single mothers. I'll make a publication of their work at the end. I am a writer, and direct a community-oriented publishing company.

I'm a single mom myself, and I'm part of a growing art organization in my town. Here's the class description

"Kids and babies are welcome. This is an ongoing drop-in group workshop focused on our experiences but also can be any writing at all. What letters do you wish you had time to write the governor? To the food stamps office? To WIC? What story do you have to tell? This is a chance to use writing, collage, journal excerpts, etc., with a goal of remaining pro-active and positive while still honest and creative. Publication planned."

I am seeking sponsorship and funding for it, so that these women don't have to pay. I need to know what kind of class structure will be the most appealing and beneficial to the women but also as a community project. does the above sound like something you would want to do? I'm setting it up so it's a drop-in type of thing, so the women don't have to worry about missing a class. Its a weekly thing that goes several weeks, on Saturday.

But, I was wondering if it might be better to do one full-day workshop with food and, and a sponsored art activity, snacks, and distraction for the kids. We have two largish rooms situated right next to each other and I would make it so that flowing in and out of the room is absolutely OK.

Any other feedback? Any ideas on organizations that would help fund this project?