self taught grant writers? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 10-17-2008, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
are there any mamas out there that can help me get started or recommend an online class/websites/books? (I have already reserved 6 books from the library and poring over various sites) But would love to know how did you learn to write grants? Or is it something that you need definite training doing? I am kind of falling into this, but am a definite newbie! Though I am quite excited at the prospect. Thanks for any info.!!!

Blissful Mama to DD-(5), DS-(6) and someone new due in November!
#2 of 22 Old 10-17-2008, 02:57 PM

I am a grantwriter, and actually IMO its less about writing skills granted being a good writer helps and more about understanding how funders think and the non-profit environment in general. Which at the moment is pretty rough, thanks in part to the economy, more organizations in need at a time when funders are scaling back.

I worked in non-profits for years before I became a grantwriter so I had a pretty good understanding of what was fundable and what wasn't. IMO I would look for a non-profit that needs help with grantwriting and offer my services for free as a way to get experience. The thing is if your goal is to become a freelance grantwriter, potential clients are going to want to know how successful your past efforts have been so its not something I would delve into without getting my feet wet first.

As far as how I learned, one I was working at an agency that added grantwriting to my duties but I also went to grad school and my focus was non-profit administration so I actually had classes in grad school that focused on grantwriting.

Good luck!

Shay

Mothering since 1992...its one of the many hats I wear.
#3 of 22 Old 10-17-2008, 04:58 PM