ANy Montessori AMS teachers out there?? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 10-29-2004, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am starting training beginning next summer and would like to chat with someone about their experience. Please respond here , pm or email me. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 11-03-2004, 05:53 AM
e&r

I'm an AMI teacher with training from 2+ to 6 years old and 6 to 12 years old.

I've taught both levels and currently have a new Children's House with 3 and 4 year olds (and growing) and a homeschool support program for 6 to 12 year olds.

Where will you be doing your training?

Good luck!
Ellen
#3 of 4 Old 11-03-2004, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter

I am training with NE Montessori institure. They have an initial 5 week summer session....3 weekend during the chool year and a 2 week wrap up. Internship is 4 hours a day. I am trying to decide if I should do all the academics first and then follow w/the internship. I am concerned about the intensity while also taking care of my children who will be 2 1/2 and 5. I don't really understand the "making your book" thing and how much time that will take. Can you give some insight?
#4 of 4 Old 11-17-2004, 05:41 AM
e&r

AMI training is structured a bit differently, but perhaps this description will be somewhat relevant.

My training was a full academic year (August through the end of May) in the evenings (I can't remember the times, perhaps 6 - 10pm?) during the week. I think that it was four days per week, and every other Saturday all day. This was almost 13 years ago, so I may be a bit off on this.

We did several weeks of observations, a hundred and something hours I think - I can't remember exactly, and then several weeks of internship in three (maybe two, but I'm pretty sure three) different locations each. (perhaps three to four weeks each of three internships?)