Sponsorships for Teachers? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 04-22-2006, 10:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Sorry if this is in the wrong section, but it's specifically geared to Montessori.

I've noticed alot of Montessori schools offering sponsorships for their teachers... does anyone know if they have to be Montessori trained in the first place, or are they just recruiting new teachers.

I have my bachelors in Theatre and I would LOVE to teach in a Montessori school. I just really am confused on where to look.

Any help/suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated!
#2 of 14 Old 04-23-2006, 12:50 AM

Hi forbiddinpluto! I am curious about your screen name, is it something to do with the theatre? What a cool perspective to go into training from. The great thing about M is that you bring your own interests and style into the materials and lessons. You have the Bachelors so you can go into training and get a M.Ed. from Loyola in Baltimore (fabulous program/also M training center) all in one year! It's a big time committment, but well worth it. I was very thouroughly prepared from my training. Go AMI! I can recommend a few good trainers/training centers if you are interested. It continues to be a dynamic and creative practice, 8 years later. I came to M from Anthropology and Music. The music program is so incredible, children can learn perfict pitch at this age.
When I was young, I performed as TinyTim in the CHristmas Carol at our community theater (my one great performance). One of our exercise was leading one another around blindfolded. This is one of the integral practices in Children's House for developing social cohesion and sensitivity to sound. Maybe you will discover more connections with theater.