Help - Need some info about what to look for in a Montessori preschool. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 05-15-2006, 02:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My daughter is going to be 3 this fall, and I am researching different Montessori preschools in my area. I'll l be observing a Montessori classroom on Tuesday.

I'm not that familiar with Montessori classrooms and how they are set up and conducted, so not sure what is relevant and what isn't.

Since this is my first time observing, what should I be looking for?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 05-15-2006, 11:20 AM

As calm an atmosphere as possible. Polite students, who work in groups or alone doing their "work" that they most likely have chosen. The teacher in the role of a guide. During introduction of new work you should see the adult teaching by 1)watch me do this 2) we'll do this together 3)child doing the new work. In my dds' last school there was also an emphasis on the environment; recycling, gardening, and ideas for the kids to take home to their own families/ houses. Their current M school has a heavy emphasis on community service and is a requirement to advance, as well as something they practice almost everyday through their work and socialization. In some M schools the children have a certain way to walk through the halls, come together for group and complete classroom chores. There should not be yelling, screaming or violence of any sort. At recess there are no bells at the schools we've been a part of, the teacher will raise her hand in the air, not say a word, and the kids gather to re-enter the building/classroom. Have fun, I hope you like what you observe.
#3 of 4 Old 05-15-2006, 11:31 PM