What training to Montessori assts have? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-04-2008, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The reason I ask is this:

I think it would really benefit DD to be in a Montessori environment for a few mornings a week. She's a month shy of 2 1/2 and I can see from her behavior that she is really craving more social interaction, structure, and opportunities for independence. I've been trying to create a Waldorf environment at home, but I'm not very good at it and I think she needs more.

Anyway, there is no way we could afford sending her to a Montessori school, even just 2-3 days a week. I also happen to need a job pretty desperately.

Do the assistants in Montessori schools have degrees and intense training? Or are they more like students of education who are just starting out? I have a lot of early childhood experience, worked in a preschool, etc., plus independent interest in the field, especially for methods like Montessori. I have some college hours, but it was at a community school with a core curriculum, so I didn't take any education courses even though that would have eventually become my major. I can't afford to go back to college right now, so unfortunately I can't say that I'm a current student on my resume.

Anyway I was thinking that maybe being a Montessori assistant would be a good deal for us. My daughter would get what she needs and I would have a job that allows me to explore my own interest. Do you think this is feasible?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-04-2008, 06:33 PM

It's going to vary by school, but probably very feasible

-Angela
Old 08-04-2008, 08:15 PM

I think it varies by school, but at ours you need 12 ECE units and need to be enrolled in Montessori teacher's training to be an asst. You do not need the training to be a sub, though.

A bit of this, a bit of that... a mish-mash quilt of a mama to Oliver (2/3/05) and Lilah (2/5/07) and Silas (9/8/09) :