Does your home look Waldorf inspired? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 36 Old 11-18-2009, 10:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was wondering, aside from the play spaces and/or nature table area that you may have that may include natural toys, wood and things from nature, does the rest of your home have a Waldorf inspired feeling? If so, please share some ideas of how and what you have done to get it that way if you feel like doing so. I'm very curious and think this could be an interesting thread!

Trish

Trish, SAHM to Kate, Daniel and Marina
#2 of 36 Old 11-19-2009, 12:12 AM

Although I am new to Waldorf, as a philosophy it fits right in with our general family life and my beliefs as a nature-loving pagan. I have always been captivated by nature, so have always picked up stuff from the outdoors. Our tiny townhouse is one big play space. We have wooden bowls of rocks and shells around. On the dinner table, on the coffee table, on the art table... we keep a basket of sticks in the wall unit's bottom shelf. We keep candles on the dinner table. Our patio is beautiful, with as many plants as my lovely dh can handle taking care of. We don't have a designated nature table, i think of it as having a few nature tables. Along with our rocks and shells, we also keep seasonal things- acorns in a bowl, autumn leaves. Perennial bamboo everywhere we can... DS's artwork on many of the walls, my art on the walls... simplicity is so important, with an emphasis on art and nature. hmmmm hope that helps, lends some ideas!
#3 of 36 Old 11-19-2009, 12:53 AM

our home is simple and our things are made from natural materials. our furniture is real wood or wool or cotton. We try to find things that have an 'organic look' rounded edges, etc. nothing to sharp looking...hmmm.. beeswax candles everywhere.... It's kind of hard to describe, especially with a lot of it still in boxes fro mthe move :P