St Nicolas - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 20 Old 11-24-2009, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Who celebrates St Nicolas on the 6th December at home? I'm a Waldorf teacher and alumni so I'm used to celebrating it at school. I also used to get a visit from St Nick at home when I was a child. Now I'm a mum and I'm thinking about starting a St Nicolas tradition for my 2 1/2 year old ds. My thought was to tell him a very simple St Nicolas story, have him put his shoes outside his room and then fill them with nuts and an orange. I might even give him a chocolate coin as a very special treat.

How did you/ will you introduce St Nicolas at your house (if you are)?
#2 of 20 Old 11-24-2009, 07:58 PM

We did exactly that. I was a teacher and lived in a waldorfy household and as a child we had a hybrid story where we left carrots and some hay in our shoes for the reindeer to nibble on and would get oranges and nuts in return. I think my younger brother was very concerned that St.Nicholas would have nothing to feed his reindeer...?

Last year with my 3yo I did a simplified story, and had to include some hay "for his horses... " I tried to blend the gesture of that story with the whole santa thing so that the santa story had more meaning other than if you were good you will get presents.

He has played St Nicholas all year long with a bag of gifts and food. sweet.

Yurt livin mama with three free range wild things 11/05, 10/07, and a wee new squish 7/13, and one two three four five little angels. Knitting junkie, sewing obsessed. Falls asleep to the sound of coyotes singing.
#3 of 20 Old 11-24-2009, 09:17 PM - Thread Starter

I like the idea of leaving carrots for his horse (hay is harder to come by). Thanks for that.
#4 of 20 Old 11-24-2009, 09:51 PM