Feedback on Waldorf - "Cult-like???" - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-19-2010, 12:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi All, I'm new to this, so let me just say thanks in advance for any feedback you can give me on this topic....

I recently visited a Waldorf school for the first time, and fell in love with everything about it. I am considering sending my son (6) there next year, as public school is not doing it for him for many reasons. The problem is, when I mentioned Waldorf to various people, their responses included the word "cult or cult-like". Has anyone any inkling of what they are referring to? Thanks!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-19-2010, 02:54 AM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
No reading until age 9 or so.

No tv, no computers, no battery operated toys.

Many holidays involving xtian saints.

Teacher stays with kids for several years.... which is fine if its a good fit, but .
Old 02-19-2010, 04:36 AM

I hear it varies greatly from school to school.

Timmy's Mommy WARNINGyslexic typing with help of preschooler, beware of typos
Old 02-19-2010, 04:56 AM

To get a feel for the strengths, weakness, and controversies within Waldorf, go to the Waldorf sub forum and then sort the threads by number of responses. The longest ones contain long conversations between Waldorf-happy and Waldorf-critical people. There are many wonderful things about Waldorf, and there are some tough things about it that you won't find on the school tours or in the pamphlets.

The "cult" thing usually is in reference to Anthroposophy. It will be spoken of as a "spiritual philosophy" yet some of us view it as a religion (except for the fact that they are generally uncomfortable with the term) and some even call it a cult. Most Waldorf teachers are anthroposophists and all must be comfortable working through anthroposophy.