Newbie- How to Create a "Waldorf" Home? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-01-2010, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi All!

I'm new to MDC, but really liking it so far. Also fairly new to Waldorf, especially where it applies to family life. I have a 10 1/2 mo DD, and DH & I are working on making the transition (or trying to!) to a more natural, "Waldorf" environment in our home. We're doing good, so far, at keeping most of the noisy and plastic toys at bay (I wonder what her first b-day, coming up, will be like though?).

My question (for today anyway! ) is this:

How can I keep my 10 1/2 mo and a 21 mo (child I care for every day) busy/ fairly contentedly occupied while they're with me in the kitchen? I'm in the middle of trying to can/preserve our garden produce these days, and I'm at a loss! Please help!

Thanks,
Jenni

BFing, co-sleeping, no-vaxing, water-birth at home mommy to DD (10/11/09).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-01-2010, 05:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JenniKail View Post

My question (for today anyway! ) is this:

How can I keep my 10 1/2 mo and a 21 mo (child I care for every day) busy/ fairly contentedly occupied while they're with me in the kitchen? I'm in the middle of trying to can/preserve our garden produce these days, and I'm at a loss! Please help!

When my little one was a mobile baby/toddler my mom suggested that I clear out a bottom cupboard and stock it with things for the little one, like a few smaller pots and pans and measuring cups, then he could crawl over and play with the things in his cupboard. It really did keep him busy!

Also, have you seen The Learning Tower? It's expensive but IMO quite worth the money. If you or a family member are handy with wood/tools I've seen some homemade versions that are quite nice and cheaper.

Good luck with the tomato canning plus two toddlers! I'm sure the results will be well worth the effort

My Etsy Shop