Toddler teacher needs help! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-13-2012, 10:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello friends

I could sure use some insight. I am currently a head teacher in a busy, over-filled toddler (1 1/2-2 1/2 year old) classroom. The classroom is a mess of plastic, primary colors, and harsh lighting. The yard is a slab of concrete, a mess of even more plastic toys, the only view offered is that of a parking lot. The atmosphere is chaotic and all the noise and activity frightfully over-stimulating. It is no wonder that the my students won't stop hitting/biting/crying and my teachers are over-whelmed and stressed.

After hearing about Waldorf schools, then reading my first Steiner book; I fell in love with the Waldorf method. To me, it now seems like the anthroposophic method is the ultimate gift teachers can give to their students. I need to incorporate it into my classroom, but don't know where or how to start. The owner of my school is a penny-pincher, I can expect no help from her. And I myself only make a small amount above minimum wage.

I need all the suggestions you wonderful people have on cheap Waldorf activities and decorations. Thank you for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-14-2012, 05:40 AM

The Bending Birches blog is a good place to start for frugality and also doing a children's garden.  She is in training to become a Waldorf teacher and may be able to e-mail with you about suggestions.  I wish you well!

Mothering an Autumn (08) , a Spring (11) , and another Autumn! (Nov. 2013)

Taking what works and leaving the rest

Old 09-20-2012, 09:08 PM