Why I love Waldorf! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 10-13-2004, 12:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So I was reading these questions about Waldorf school and wished I had seen these posts when they were originally posted so I could have helped.

Anway, I love Waldorf education for many reasons and I have 2 children in Waldorf school, and 2 in public school (divorce situation) so I get a good look at both.

I would love to hear from some parents about what they love about Waldorf.
Oh, and I am also a trained Waldorf teacher myself, and so is my husband...............
#2 of 12 Old 10-13-2004, 05:08 PM

I love the classrooms! So beautiful and so little clutter. I love the no media (or little media). I love the handwork, the two languages, the singing, the festivals, the devoted teachers who stay for 8 years, the music, the art, the gardening, the math, the reading.... I love how it looks at the whole child not just the academics. I love the recoginition of the spiritual without the dogma of religion. I love how the children are allowed to be children and are sheltered. I love the fairy tales in 1st grade, the saints and heros of 2nd grade, the Old Testement and Jewish culture of 3rd grade, the Norse in 4th grade, the Greeks in 5th grade, the Romans in 6th grade, etc. I love that they celebrate Islam, Christianity, Judism, Pagans and other cultures. My children are being raised Christians in our home but they will have a very good understanding and awareness of other religions and cultures.
#3 of 12 Old 10-13-2004, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter

Rhonwyn:

Thank you for replying.......its nice to hear someone on these boards has something good to say about Waldorf!

I think you replied on another thread and said you have children in Waldorf school. How many and what ages? We have ages 3, 6, 7, and 9!

#4 of 12 Old 10-13-2004, 05:44 PM