Looking for Waldorf info - pro or con - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 08-09-2005, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi! I have been trying to find more info about Waldorf education. Initially, the picture I was getting about Waldorf was very appealing, but I do have some concerns about the stance on inclusion of reading/language skills at a young age.

I am a writer, taught creative writing for several years, read from a very early age, etc. So, whild I don't feel an over emphais on "academics" is beneficial at an early age & I love the idea of letting children's imaginations grow naturally - the lack of reading concerns me.

Am I misinterpreting this? Can anyone point me in the dierction of some helpful books/websites? DD is only 16 mths, so we are just starting to explore schools & get an idea of what we want in a school.

Specific feedback on Waldorf or a point in the right direction would be appreciated (i.e please don't just say "it sucks" or "we love it" )

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 08-09-2005, 02:24 PM

My kids are older, but each started reading around 7 or 8. My oldest, when we finally turned him loose on reading, went from no reading at all to reading out of National Geographic witin two weeks (I'm not kidding about this). So I guess that's a good thing. All my kids are good readers now, but one struggles a bit with comprehension. Who knows what would have been the result if they had started earlier?

Pete
#3 of 4 Old 08-09-2005, 05:12 PM

More to Reading than Meets the Eye