Waldorf Resource Sticky - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 10-26-2005, 02:46 AM - Thread Starter
Banned

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all, just spent 30 minutes skimming some of these threads and I feel more confused about waldorf than when I started. Where to start? What is a good book or two about waldorf or rudolf steiner for parents thinking about waldorf education in the next year or two or three. (dd is 2.5 now). I really like the emphasis on the head, heart, and the hands and what I have seen seems calmer and gentler then public schools. I've been a public school teacher for 12 years in Seattle and am glad to be a sahm now and don't want to go back. Too chaotic and too focused on testing and the funding situation is a disaster. We are not particularly religious so catholic, christian schools are out. The academically advanced schools and the rigorously academic ones don't appeal to me at all. Montessori seems too structured to me. I don't think dd would like it. I want dd to have a more holistic education. I am going around visiting waldorf preschools in our area starting tomorrow and I will also ask teachers what books they recommend.

And, Pete, you can be sure I will ask about the religious aspect of anthroposophy.
#2 of 21 Old 10-26-2005, 08:19 AM

My first pick would be You Are Your Child's First Teacher by Rahima Baldwin Dancy

Great for nature studies! http://www.pleinairkids.com
Plein Air Kids - Handmade wooden art boxes for Budding Artists.
#3 of 21 Old 10-26-2005, 08:25 AM

AWSNA (association of waldorf schools in north america) website
ASA (anthroposophical society in america) website (anthroposophy.org)
waldorfworld.com---lots of info and links for a waldorf beginner
#4 of 21 Old 10-26-2005, 09:04 AM

I posted a thread with the open houses in Seattle. I would check out the Kindergarten ones and maybe even the grade school ones for an idea of what Waldorf is in Seattle.
#5 of 21 Old 10-26-2005, 10:10 AM