waldorf inspired playroom - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 28 Old 11-19-2005, 09:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi everyone, I'm new to the waldorf board. I've been watching for a while now, getting educated on waldorf philosophy (we have a great waldorf school in my town and we are thinking of sending ds there). anyways, our addition to our house is finally finished which means we get to design and decorate ds's playroom. we're already making him a nature table but its going in the living room. we've sorted out his toys and we're getting rid of a lot of the plastic ones (we're keeping some untill we can replace them with wood toys). what suggestions do you have for making his playroom? we want to put baskets with rocks and shells and pinecones and things (although some we might need to wait untill he's a little less oral) DS is 11 months now. Thanks so much for any suggestions!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 28 Old 11-19-2005, 10:35 PM

Hi and welcome! I'm a Waldorf newbie myself (Ds is in the Parent and Tot class for his second year, and we did Morning Garden baby music before that). I have daydreams about having a Waldorf-y playroom, so I have some ideas for you!
Sheer curtains (pink and lavender are in the early childhood classrooms at our school) and/or natural blinds (bamboo, etc.).

Paint the walls a soft color, or better yet, there is a painting (?) technique that is used in our school that uses different soft colors, looks like watercolor on the walls. Someone here can probably fill you in on what it is called, and how to do it.

A nice natural fiber rug to play on. Since your babe is so young, softness should be emphasized in all the decorating.