Mothering Forum banner

Waldorf loving teacher in non-waldorf school?

1K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  MamaSweetP 
#1 ·
Hi, since learning about Waldorf I have become a great follower. I have a 10 month old and we are trying to live a waldorfian lifestyle. In the next year I will have to return to work as a elementary music teacher. Unfortunately there are no Waldorf schools in my area. How can I incorporate the Waldorf teaching philosophy into a public school curriculum? Since I teach music most principals don't have the foggest what I do. As long as I turn in lesson plans and have the students perform, they're happy! My music curriculum goes across the board. So while the students are learning to sing a song they are also learning a dance from the same country or making instruments and even making quilts. I would love any ideas. Thank you

#2 ·
Excellent question! You are in the same boat I was in many years ago. Like you, I was a public school teacher (Early K and kindergarten) in a public school when I began researching, reading, and following the Waldorf education philosophy. It did change the way I taught from that point forward! First, read, read and READ some more about the Waldorf way.

You're lucky because as a music teacher, there is so much you can do to incorporate Waldorf teaching techniques into your classroom. First, the Waldorf teaching philosophy incorporates movement and rhythm into their music curriculum. Also, they use pure simple tones, you might want to look into using a children's harp or lyre in your class. Learn about "Mood of the Fifth" music and how to incorporate it into your curriculum. Also, children are taught to use a recorder.

There is a wonderful book called Spindrift printed by Wynstones Press that has an excellent introduction entitled "The Value of Music in the Life of a Young Child." Also, the book is filled with songs, stories and poems which you might find helpful.