Mothering Forum banner

what's in your waldorf playroom?

2K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  SageR 
#1 ·
So if you have a waldorf-inspired playroom at home or school, tell me what's in it for toys. What do your kiddos play with the most? I'm trying to set something up for my two daughters but on a very very tight budget and living in a VERY small space. Unless I can find it in nature or at a yard sale, they will be without it. But I truly believe I can make a gorgeous play area for them on a small budget and cram it creatively into our small spaces. I am a novice sewer but can knit quite well. So far this is what we have:

variety of playsilks (some 35x35, some handkerchief sized)
a few knit baby gnomes(by me)
2 waldorf dolls(one boy, one girl)
wooden sink and shelves(plastic toy food)
a few small knit balls(by me)
a variety of wooden puzzles
a wooden doll cradle
a child-sized table and chairs for coloring, reading, and snacking at
a variety of wooden baskets(cloth lined and not) for toys
2 wooden cars
wooden castle with small soft dolls(they RARELY play with it though)
a set of wooden blocks

So I guess I"m looking for direction. Their room is so small that it's not conducive to toys. Basically it fits only bunk beds and a dresser. Our living room fits the wooden sink, a small wooden bookcase for the toy baskets and the table and two chairs. And that's it. And due to the house's set-up, nothing else can be really set up for them. I think I need direction.

See less See more
#2 ·
Wow, that's an awful lot for a start. It sounds like you have a great setup already.