Why are there so few Reggio school for older kids? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 09-28-2006, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Older as in "non-preschool." I don't get it.
#2 of 15 Old 09-28-2006, 11:12 PM
crl

I'm no expert, but my understanding is that Reggio was/is intended by the original school for preschool and below. I believe it was originally developed as a community to provide care for small children who had both parents working. . . .
#3 of 15 Old 09-28-2006, 11:21 PM

Because it isn't intended for older children and it is remarkably difficult to directly transfer the pedagogy to older children. You can transfer portions, like making learning visible, teacher as researcher but as a whole doesn't really work out. There are just some things a child needs to learn in elementary school that might not come up it the curriculum was completely student driven. Like fractions, or even reading and writing. The schools in Reggio are "just" the municipal, public preschools so those children go on to the very academic and rigorous municipal public elementary schools when they outgrow the preschools.

The Italians (Carlina, Amelia, a couple of the first reggio teachers) think its nuts that people in the USA have applied their ideas to older children. I think it can work to a certain existent but really the Reggio idea in older schools is just the "Free School" movement of the 1960's in the UK...which failed miserably and did the opposite of what it intened...proved that teacher direction is indeed needed in certain aspects of schooling.

Eden yikes.gif, working on a PhD in Education mama to Laurelleshamrocksmile.gif (16), Orijoy.gif (6), Yarrowfaint.gif (4) and Linusfly-by-nursing1.gif (1) partner to Brice. 
#4 of 15 Old 09-29-2006, 09:15 PM