expeditionary learning - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 10-27-2006, 02:54 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Does anyone have any info about this type of school? The website is informative, as is their regional director, however, I would like some 'inside' info.
My town is trying to develop a charter school and this is the format they would like to use.
Sounds like a good program to me. The founding board members originally wanted a christian private school, but decided on a charter. Does this program have roots in christianity? I sure hope not.
Thanks for any info.
#2 of 6 Old 10-27-2006, 05:17 PM

We've got a middle school/high school charter in town that is an "expeditionary learning" school. As my kids are early in elementary, I have no personal experience with it, but have spoken with a few people who know something about it. Ours definitely does not have a Christian basis although some of the other local core knowledge or classical education charter schools seem to. I don't think that it is inherent in the philosophy of any of those types of schools (core knowledge, classical ed, expeditionary), but depending on who is running the school, I imagine that any of them could be steered in that direction.

I think that it is based on environmental learnining and somewhat of an outward bound type of environment.
#3 of 6 Old 10-27-2006, 05:19 PM

I meant "learning" not learnining in my last line, but I can't edit for some reason.
#4 of 6 Old 11-27-2006, 05:21 PM

I was trained to be a teacher through an internship in an ELOB school.