Cooking Channel: Food Network Offshoot Courts Younger, Food-Obsessed Crowd - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 04-21-2010, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/21/di...d=1&ref=dining

Quote:
Called the Cooking Channel, it is lining up low-key programs targeted at a hipper crowd interested in the grass roots of food culture.
Oh interesting! I hadn't heard they were doing this.

Anne, Mama to Conner 2/27/04 blahblah.gif  Gabrielle 2/6/06 W/LMC-TCS, Neurogenic Bladder, AFO & KAFO wearer, Neurogenic Bowel energy.gif & Delaney 5/12/08 mischievous.gif &  Beethoven cat.gif& Gizmo cat.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 18 Old 04-21-2010, 09:02 PM

Intersting article, I've been saying for a few years that I want to see more diversity in the cooking shows and more international cuisine with it's own show. Don't really care that they are going for the "younger" "hipper" crowd though and don't care for the whole, be on the cutting edge of cool. I'm more interested in authentic international food hosted by native cooks. They aren't going to get me with cool. My biggest complaint about food network is the shows are too repetitive and there are wayyyyy too many contest type shows.
#3 of 18 Old 04-21-2010, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter

I agree. I would like to see Mexican, Greek, Indian etc. Especially Indian since I would love to try it, but have no idea where to start.

Anne, Mama to Conner 2/27/04 blahblah.gif  Gabrielle 2/6/06 W/LMC-TCS, Neurogenic Bladder, AFO & KAFO wearer, Neurogenic Bowel energy.gif & Delaney 5/12/08 mischievous.gif &  Beethoven cat.gif& Gizmo cat.gif

#4 of 18 Old 04-23-2010, 11:43 PM

I would like a channel with just cooking shows or shows about food. A show about "what is this weird ingredient in my CSA box and what on earth do I do with it?" is something I would like.

I don't like contests.