moving out of london (but commuting back into it) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 08-03-2010, 04:20 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hi mamas. i'm wondering if you have suggestions for me. we've been living in north london for a couple of years (!) now and we've loved it. my partner continues to work in central london most weeks, though he sometimes travels outside of london enough that we wonder why we're paying to live there! i have a beautiful little garden, we've made great friends, we're enjoying homeschooling there.

but. the cost of living is steep, and we often dream of living somewhere beautiful and peaceful, where we could have more space inside and a lot more space out, to grow some more food and let the children roam a bit further. i am an artist, and even in london many folks think all the things i make myself is crazy. it would be nice to be with folks that live more traditionally in terms of being close to their food...maybe! i'd like to have access to local, bountiful food, i'd like to be somewhere near *some* kind of water, and i'd like to be close to other home educators and open, friendly people. you know, i want the idyllic english village that everyone else wants. at the moment we don't have a car, but we could consider remedying that.

the trick is that my partner will need to commute into central london most weeks, and have access to trains across england and to an airport otherwise.

i haven't a clue how to even begin! we chose the place we lived based on lots of coincidences, hearing the name of the area repeatedly, and finally finding a place (the first place we looked at!!) and falling in love. i'm not sure how to go about finding the next place! i keep hearing about devon, but my understanding is that it is too far - unless he really starts having more work outside of london than in it.

i'd love to hear what you think!

#2 of 4 Old 08-03-2010, 09:58 AM