Moving to Edinburgh and looking for Aping/unschooling community - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 02-11-2012, 11:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello everyone! Sorry if I posted this in the wrong area, I am a forum newbie. :) In about a year we will be moving to Edinburgh ( or possibly Fife) and was wondering what the natural parenting/ unschooling or homeschooling community is like there. We also are planning on having a second child about that time, and although I am British I am unfamiliar with VBACs in the UK as well as homebirth there ( I have lived abroad for most of my life).

We have a nearly 4 year old daughter, who is still breastfeeding/cosleeping. We currently live in Thailand and she has had problems with the neighborhood kids trying to hit her or run away when she approaches. We have to wait 7 months for our dogs/cat to get cleared to enter the UK, or we would move sooner. lol

Would love to cyber meet some of you in that area, and one day meet you in person!!

Elizabeth

http://www.sattvicfamily.net

unschooling mom, family travel enthusiast and holistic living advocate

#2 of 6 Old 02-12-2012, 02:26 AM

Hi there! I live just outside Edinburgh. There is a great home schooling community here, and I think even branches of it in Fife! There are loads of us, and many different meet ups and groups to go to for all ages and interests. Here is the website; http://www.ebhe.org.uk/joining.html Once you are a member, you have access to forums, blogs and all the events and groups that EBHE has to offer.

We also have a meetup at the museum in Edinburgh for new members, where you can meet everyone and discuss all things homeschooling.

I have an almost 3 year old daughter, and we go to a couple of toddler groups, although not as aften as we'd like to. If you have any other questions, feel free to ask, and hopefully I'll see you at one of the future meetups :)