Non SAHMs and extended nursing - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 01-21-2009, 01:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello,
My daughter is 16 mo and I was a SAHM until she was 11mo. I am a full time student studying to become a RN. Her daycare is at my college and they claim to support breastfeeding. They have comfortable chairs in the young infant room and nursing covers for mothers to use in that room. The problem is since my daughter isn't a 'young infant' under six months I have always had to sneak in her nursing with her in a wrap and her head covered. The people that work there give me odd looks when she is nursing and pops her head, and something else, out of the wrap. I don't want to give up nursing her because I feel that child led weaning is the natural and best thing to do but I am at a loss. Should I just nurse her at home and make her wait until we are not at her daycare? Does anyone else have/had a similar problem?
cheers

Sugaree hippie mama: to one perfect daughter 9/07: one money-pit:
We : we share a:Right now we are: :
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 18 Old 01-21-2009, 02:10 AM

Hi... first... big :

I don't have much in the way of a similar experience... but as a working mama who was pumping at work and nursing in public well into my DS' second year I can tell you that the only thing to do is have confidence and be proud of what you are doing.

If she wants to nurse, and you want to nurse her, nurse her. Either straight out ask to use the nursing stations or take her somewhere else and nurse her. I bet you will find that when you display more confidence about your choice you will get more favorable responses.
#3 of 18 Old 01-21-2009, 02:17 AM

I would just nurse her and not cover. I would never use a nursing cover personally. They can't require it.

-Angela
#4 of 18 Old 01-21-2009, 05:09 PM