Night weaning for 2 year old? How? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 03-04-2012, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have a beautiful 28 month old daughter who is an avid nurser. She's my last....I have nursed all three of my kids, from only 21 months with my first, to 3 1/2 years with my second, and now am going strong with Linnea. We co-sleep, as well. However....I am exhausted with the night nursing, which goes on from about 1 AM until we get up at 6. I basically am getting about 3 or 4 hours of sleep every night. I'm a special ed teacher by day, too, and am just so tired in general. I don't know what to do! I know we're not ready to stop nursing, but I think I would like her to sleep apart from me, yet not sure how to support this change. I just know something needs to change.

Any experiences or ideas to share, mamas? Thanks!

Laurie wash.gif (44), wife to DH thumb.gif(60), mama to DS guitar.gif (18), DS reading.gif(6), DSD heartbeat.gif(15), and DD (4)jog.gif 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 6 Old 03-10-2012, 07:45 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Is she verbal at all? Dd2 (35 mo) understands a lot--I introduced the idea of "mama's tired, mama's breasts are tired, let's just snuggle to sleep" awhile ago. She has her own bed (shares a room with her sister), but we still do sleep together some. Sometimes I let her nurse down in our bed and then dh will move her to hers (when that doesn't work, he sleeps in her bed). You could try putting a bed in your room, next to you (if there's room) or if a bed would need to be in another room, you can start the night sleeping with her then slip out to your own bed. It's possible that if you're not next to her, she won't wake up for the middle of the night nursing.

If you teach special ed, then that means she must be in daycare of some kind? So in other words, sleeping away from you isn't an entirely new thing.