Child-led pacifer weaning? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 06-07-2006, 12:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Though I get the impression that pacifers are frowned upon in CLW, I'd like some advice anyway . My son is 3 yrs & a couple of months and still nurses around 1-3 times a day. He also uses a pacifier to go to sleep, which we started when he was about 18 months old b/c of my near-psychosis sleep deprivation and needing to be on the ball during the day because I'm a grad student and single mom.

He LOVES his pacifer, and becomes VERY sad without it--cries harder than he does about anything else. He even prefers it to nursing a lot of the time--he does not want to nurse to sleep but prefers the pacifer. (I lie down with him and cuddle him while he 'nurses' the pacifer to sleep. He also does this when he stays with his dad.) I don't in principle have any major issues with the pacifier, but you hear so much about crooked teeth, and I am not thrilled with whatever chemicals he may be getting from the rubber. (Of course, he's getting plenty of PCBs etc in the breast milk too.) I usually take it out as soon as he's asleep, but sometimes I fall asleep myself and forget, or occasionally when I absolutely must get some work done, I leave it in his mouth while he naps b/c it often gets me an extra hour.

On the one hand, I feel like he can let go of the pacifer when he's ready, just like with nursing. On the other hand, what about teeth and sucking on a piece of manufactured rubber for an hour or so every day? I really like that he can 'nurse' with his dad, but sometimes his dad shows signs of being ready to evict the pacifer.