Mamas of a certain age ... mammograms while nursing? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 07-18-2007, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My 43rd birthday is next month, and I still have the mammogram lab order written by the doctor when I went last year. She said, "just have it done when you stop nursing him." Well, here we are, and my almost-3-year-old still loves to nurse. I have been nursing nonstop since March 2000, so I never had a "baseline" mammogram, either, when I was in my mid-30s.

I just wondered if anyone out there is in my situation or has had a mammogram while nursing an older child. I'm reassuring myself that because my breasts are being used for their intended purpose, they're too busy making milk than growing bad cells. I'd probably get scolded by the MD for that. I also handle them more than a non-lactating woman my age, KWIM? So I think I'd notice a lump quicker ...
#2 of 17 Old 07-18-2007, 10:12 PM

I'll be 42 this month and DD1 will be 3 at the end of August. My OB asked the mammogram expert and was told a mammogram done while nursing or pregnant won't produce a meaningful baseline, due to the thickness of the breasts.

DD2 just turned 1. I hope to nurse her for at least another year, possibly 2.

I might not be able to have one done until I'm 43 or 44.

~Cath
#3 of 17 Old 07-18-2007, 10:22 PM

I'm mid 40s and haven't had a mammagram because I've been nursing for the past 8 1/2 years. I figure it can wait. I found a lump once and they did a sonogram, which is safer.

Being right is not always fair, but being fair is always right
#4 of 17 Old 07-18-2007, 10:33 PM

I will be 38 in November this year and have never had a mammogram. I have small breasts and like pp mine are handled a lot during nursing etc, which I have been doing for almost 3 1/2 years (except for a short while during pregnancy).