still bf at 8..... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 74 Old 06-09-2008, 01:05 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Has anyone seen this?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxv6R...eature=related

This is the longest I have seen a child still bf. Does anyone here have similiar experience? I am new to the concept of child let weaning, and I have seen 4 or 5 as the norm, but never 8....just wondering what you all have experienced.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 74 Old 06-09-2008, 01:16 AM

I think if you look around this board, you'll find a thread for moms who have breastfed into later years. I know I've seen as late as 7 on here!
#3 of 74 Old 06-09-2008, 02:27 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I saw the video too, and the child still BFing is actually 7 still. That's the longest I think I've ever heard of, and I'd be interested in hearing about other people's experiences too. I'm just curious about how that works for each family. I'm sure there are threads, anyone have any good links to them?
I've thought for years I'd encourage BFing til 4 yrs, but don't know of anyone IRL who's gone past that. I think I'd be open to it personally if it was still something the child and I enjoyed together til whenever they're done. I have faith in my AP skills and know that my kids will get all their BFing needs met well before they get to college, now my DP on the other hand...
Cheers,
Chelsie

Former Nanny Extraordinaire, looking forward to being a Mama! treehugger.gif I love Organizing & being a Health & Wellness Coach eat.gif & I'm crunchy granola as long as it's organic and certified gluten free. GF since March '08 yummy.gif. Willoughby Nov '11  cat.gif TTC #1-still, again, some more, & seriously pondering adoption. 
#4 of 74 Old 06-09-2008, 03:07 AM