Anyone ever try a castor oil belly rub? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 21 Old 07-27-2009, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm 41w 5d. So, I don't really want to "induce" baby unaturally (sex, nipple stim, walking...all ok, but not helping) and ingesting castor oil is out of the question for me, but I was wondering about applying it topically to my belly through massage? Seems like it would help with the same affect, but not as severe? What do yall think?

Jesus-loving, helpmate to Billy and Unschooling mama to a five!
#2 of 21 Old 07-27-2009, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter

anyone?

#3 of 21 Old 07-27-2009, 09:08 PM

My midwives told me that castor oil actually causes stomach cramps and not contractions. They said that some people believe it works but there isn't any proof. I'm no expert, it's just what I've heard, and a belly massage with oil never hurt anything, so it's worth a try!

For what it's worth, I went into labor with both of my kids within a few hours after making love with my man. I'm a believer in that!

Home birthing, extended bf, homeschooling, vegan lifestyle-living massage therapist mama to Grrl 1 (12/11/04), Grrl 2 (2/15/07), Grrl 3 (6/23/11), and ?! (10/14). Backpacking, kayaking, shoestring traveling adrenaline junky--I love talking all night around the campfire and drinking great craft beer!
treehugger.gif
#4 of 21 Old 07-27-2009, 09:37 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by citymagnolia View Post
My midwives told me that castor oil actually causes stomach cramps and not contractions. They said that some people believe it works but there isn't any proof. I'm no expert, it's just what I've heard, and a belly massage with oil never hurt anything, so it's worth a try!

For what it's worth, I went into labor with both of my kids within a few hours after making love with my man. I'm a believer in that!