First-time mom, wanting unassisted childbirth! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-25-2010, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hey!

I have joined here in hopes that I can find some support and advice in planning an unassisted homebirth!

I was planning to have my little boy at a birth center, but was informed that they will more than likely send me to the hospital.

The reason is that I am technically in the obese range.

I am perfectly healthy in every other way, except for the fact that I have too much poundage. I started out at 225 pounds, lost 15 and have stayed at 210 so far. My diet is very balanced.

I will not have my baby in a hospital and I am attempting to do all I can not to develop gestational diabetes and preeclampsia.

I always wanted to have an unassisted homebirth, but now I'm thinking I will actually do it.

I started studying childbirth at the age of 17. I am now 22 and know all the risks involved, and feel that this is the best choice for me.

I am also doing the hypnobabies home study course (Just started at 22 weeks, 23 weeks now)

I am married to a great man, and he will naturally be present. What I'm thinking is to stay with the birth center for all the check-ups etc. and secretly prepare to do everything at home and then just not inform them of the birth until afterwards. Sneaky, yes. But it's the best idea I can come up with.

Finding a midwife to attend sounds too tricky and too expensive.
So, like I said, any and all information regarding other unassisted births and also, ways that worked for others in preventing GD and preeclampsia, I want all the help I can get!

Thanks!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-25-2010, 09:08 PM