Hello! Newbie here... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 49 Old 03-30-2011, 12:59 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am a mama of 4 girls and 23 weeks pregnant with another surprise due in July. Just recently started looking into UC and came here to read some of the stories/threads and learn a bit more information. I have been doing lots of research over the past couple days and at times I feel excited about it and sometimes I just don't know if I could do it. I feel like I only have a short time to decide so I am making use of my insomnia to learn as much as I can so that I can feel more confident.

Open minded, easy going mama to 4 girls and a beautiful baby boy heartbeat.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 49 Old 03-30-2011, 08:14 AM

Just keep reading. Remember most docs and some midwives can cause more harm than what help they give - so that should be a factor in your decision. Do what feels right for you though.

Happily married Christian SAHM of 2 boys, DD1 uc.jpg, and DD2 July 2013 homebirth.jpg 

homeschool.gif   novaxnocirc.gif cd.gif   winner.jpg                                       

#3 of 49 Old 03-30-2011, 08:29 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)

When I was thinking of UCing, I felt very strongly that *if* I was going to do it, it would be best done from a place of knowledge and confidence, and not from a place of fear.  UCing because I know my body can do this = Awesome!  UCing because doctors suck and I don't trust them = not at all empowering.

I wanted to make a baby the way that I make bread:  with intention and attention, knowledge and patience, and in a way that was centered in our ordinary lives.  To me, going to a hospital, or calling in a midwife, felt like taking the experience out of the sacred mundane that I strive for and putting it on another plane, not part of the same fabric as our daily family life.