Newby --Hello! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-22-2011, 11:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I just wanted to pop in and say hello!  I'm the mom of 5 (my signature may still say 4...it has been a while since I've been on since he's 15 mo) and we're planning to very shortly move off-grid and homestead.  I am not pregnant but if/when we have another, my choices will be to either A. go completely at the whim of welfare medicine and be flown to a medical facility to birth without my family or choices as to with whom and where or B. have an unassisted chilbirth.  So, I've already found a few threads asking which books to read and I'll start there.  I'm a researcher at heart, so I'll be back (especially when pregnant) to ask all kinds of questions and find out all there is to find out!  Thanks for the resources!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-29-2011, 02:44 PM

Wow, I would definitely pick B. lol. Flying while in labor does not sound fun. That is very off-grid to have to be flown to a hospital. We are somewhat homesteading in a modern sense of the word. But not off-grid at all. Love to hear about it, as we've talked about going totally off-grid before. Where are you moving off grid? In Alaska? My dh has really wanted to move to Alaska, but as I look at the snow covering the trees and floating down steadily all day...at the end of April I think we're North enough. I hope you find all the info you need, and welcome to the forum.    

~Kristie

Old 04-29-2011, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter