Would You Scan For Twins And When? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-24-2012, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I can't shake the twin feeling guys!

Here's why - 

* Feeling super tired and sick at 5.5 weeks, now 6 weeks and I could sleep for a week.

* Saying "baby" doesn't feel right. I imagine one baby growing in me and my head is like "nope!", but I imagine two boys and it feels normal, no surprise. 

*My uterus is halfway between my pubic bone and my navel. I have double checked this with an internal/external exam and it was definitely my uterus I was feeling. I used to be a student midwife and spent a lot of my days feeling and measuring bumps. 

*My dates are correct but when I took a HPT it said 2-3 weeks since conception, even though I was only 10DPO MAX - which was also a surprise as I didn't get a proper pink line with my last pregnancy until a day after my missed period. A week later I had little panic moment cause I was feeling fine, after a few days of sickness, and I caved and took another test. It said 3+ weeks...so the first wasn't a fluke. I would't normally buy those tests but it was the only one in my local supermarket.

*My mother in law has a psychic friend who I used to think was nuts but started to believe her over the years. She told me a few years ago I would have twin boys. I didn't believe her but now I think I might. I emailed her the other day to ask her if she still felt that way, as I had been pregnant for a very short time last year (just about 5 days past my period) and maybe this was what she picked up on. 

She wrote back today saying "Congratulations! It's twins. Fraternal. Well done for fertilising two healthy eggs. Look after yourself and give them lots of love"

So...with all my twin suspicions, that kind of threw me over the edge today.