Mothering Forum banner

Do you get ultrasounds/bloodwork?

2K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  BlessedOne 
#1 ·
Sorry if this question seems stupid i am a newbie to this and i am trying to learn.

I experienced a missed abortion unfortunately but we are very hopeful and that it somehow happened for a reason. We plan on trying to conceive again next June.

I know for sure I want an at home water birth and I have been researching loads and I really would love to do UC...now what I am wondering ladies who have done it is : do you get prenatal care? Such as ultrasounds, bloodwork for genetic disorders etc or no?

#2 ·
Yes. I really enjoy midwifery prenatal care, but it is hard to get a midwife who will do prenatal care if you are planning a UC. I have also used a doctor before for prenatal care and just had an "oops" delivery. I felt like it was important to have blood work and things done so I could make informed decisions. I like to have an early ultrasound to confirm dates, but I don't really care too much to have a later ultrasound. Especially since we don't find out the gender and I think there would be too much temptation there for me to resist, lol. I have several friends though who have UP'd (unassisted pregnancy) and done their own care - things like checking fundal height and blood pressure are fairly simple - and outside of that just relied on being in tune enough to know if there was a problem. I also like the idea of having a relationship with a doctor or midwife in case I feel like there is a need to transfer. It's really up to you. There's no wrong way to do it.

#3 ·
I am pregnant with my 6th baby. My first was hospital birth, second was birthing center and the last 3 were uc homebirths and now I am planning my 4th UC.