First question =) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 11-16-2005, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi ladies, this is my first time posting here so I guess I should introduce myself first before I ask my question I'm Britt, and I'm 26 weeks into my first pregnancy. My husband and I are planning on having a UC in February, and we're very excited I've had a really easy pregnancy so far, but I've recently developed a head cold, that has now moved out of my head and into my chest. I also have asthma, so it may not be the cold at all, it could just be that, but I'm still blowing my nose quite a bit so I dunno. Anyway, it started yestereday after I scrubbed a cat mess in the carpet (I'm allergic to cats, so that set my allergies off), and has continued to worsen today. I'm slightly wheezy, but still able to take full breaths, but I feel short of breath all the time, and an off again on again cough that is sometimes dry and sometimes flemy. I'm hesitant to call my allergist because I'm sure he'll want to give me meds, and he favors the steriods like prednisone. I hate prednisone when I'm not pregnant, and don't even want to consider the possibility of taking it now. Anyway, I'm looking for suggestions and advice on how to handle this? Should I go ahead and call him to see what he'd say? Or just chill, and see what happens?
#2 of 4 Old 11-16-2005, 12:47 PM

I don't have asthma... but i am 23 weeks along with an ex-sinus head cold that moved into my lungs.. I picked up the hyland's bronchial cough remedy to help my body get the stuff out of my lungs and I try to keep it humid where we sleep with a humidifier... and I am taking hot steamy showers.