Wheat grass juice + sprouted barley juice - GLUTEN? - Mothering Forums
 
Thread Tools
#1 of 6 Old 03-28-2009, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
 
Metasequoia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In the village
Posts: 7,648
Mentioned: 329 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
I was looking at multi-vits & this one looked good except for the wheat grass juice & sprouted barley juice - are those okay for GFers? My feeling is no, but maybe they aren't actually a problem?

Mama to Girl 2/00, Girl 1/03, Boy 3/06, Boy 11/10, and coming July 2015!
Metasequoia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 of 6 Old 03-28-2009, 12:45 PM
 
nalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle-ish
Posts: 2,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
barley is a gluten grain. i'm pretty sure wheat grass is fine. i mean, it's a grass not a grain, yk? not completely sure though.

Still a sleepy mama to my fabulous 2 year old girl
nalo is offline  
#3 of 6 Old 03-28-2009, 01:58 PM
 
tanyalynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: TX, but anticipating one more move
Posts: 11,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I thought I read once that it's only in the wheat and barley seeds that the gluten is formed, but I'd probably be hesitant to take it myself, or give it to the kids.
tanyalynn is offline  
#4 of 6 Old 03-28-2009, 10:22 PM
 
kjbrown92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 10,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I have one that was recommended by my osteopath that had barley grass and wheat grass in it and he checked with the manufacturer and it was gluten free, but sprouted? I don't know.

Kathy, mother of 3, wife of 1. My new recipe blog: www.kathysrecipebox.wordpress.com (no longer searchable by allergen, but at least it doesn't have a virus!)
kjbrown92 is offline  
#5 of 6 Old 03-29-2009, 08:43 AM
 
FireWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area
Posts: 3,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
SB has mentioned the grasses are gluten free. I remeber it because I was interested in juicing them.

Children deserve the respect of puzzling it out.
FireWithin is offline  
#6 of 6 Old 03-29-2009, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
 
Metasequoia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In the village
Posts: 7,648
Mentioned: 329 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
On Celiac.com, it looks like people don't consider them safe because of contamination issues. It's true that it's from the grass, not the gluten containing seed, but who's to say the occasional seed hasn't gotten mixed in?

AFAIK, I don't have Celiac, just a "mild" reaction to gluten, but I know the potential for damage, so I avoid it.

Mama to Girl 2/00, Girl 1/03, Boy 3/06, Boy 11/10, and coming July 2015!
Metasequoia is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off