Asthmatic Cough starting in Food Allergic Toddler --- Advice, Please - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 04-26-2010, 11:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My almost 2-year-old has started coughing at nights, sometimes so hard he wretches, gags, and vomits. I am scared this is turning into asthma.

Besides avoiding his known food allergies and sensitivities, does anyone have advice as to what else we can do? I have spent the first 2 years of his life looking at foods and diets, and I have little experience dealing with environmental stuff.

He loves running around and playing. It recently rained heavily, which is great for those pollen sufferers, but bad for people sensitive to mold, like me, and I'm afraid my son.

I do hot water washes and dye/fragrance free everything. I should limit stuffed animals, I know.

Some people say more exercise is better for asthmatics---haven't looked into that at all yet. Anyone know about that? I remember the kids with asthma always being told not to overexert themselves...

Anyway, I am still wondering if maybe there is something else foodwise going on that I haven't uncovered yet. He's been having runny noses as well, so that could be food related...but the coughs worse at morning and night make me think environmental.

As always, thank you for any insight or thoughts. They are always much appreciated!!
#2 of 7 Old 04-27-2010, 12:58 AM

Do you have a regular allergist that you can see? Someone that can deal with the food as well as give you some info on the possibility of asthma. I've found that my dude just doesn't handle things as well as my other two. He was born "full term" but wasn't really ready when labor started at 37 weeks. He had RSV, has asthma and several food sensitivities (no food allergies thank goodness).

If he's having breathing difficulty you need to get him in quickly. They may give you a nebulizer to have around which has been a life saver for us.