GF Bread Baking Thread - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-02-2010, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I need guidence from some fellow GF bakers

I am new to GF and previously have been a big baker. I baked our own bread, muffins, cookies, birthday cakes, tortillas, you name it. Untill now I have only tried once to make GF bread... Lets just say the only thing it was good for was bread crumbs Since then I have not tried because I can't afford to buy GF flours, nor waste the money on bread that is not fit for consumtion. I was gifted today a ton of GF baking mix (several different brands but mostly Pamela's), coconut flour, flaxseed flour, brown rice flour, ect ect by another homeschooling family who is moving to Australias Here are some questions I have:

SHould I make one big GF baking mix by combining all the mixes and flours I have?
I also was given a box of egg replacer whould this help to through in the mix?
What is the best method to making GF bread?
Have any good recipes?

TIA!

Erin Mama to thing 1 and 2 WAH with CELIAC?! Living and Learning
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-02-2010, 03:36 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
I would not mix up the different flours! If you have Pamela's bread mix (she also makes a baking mix for pancakes, etc), that is one of my favorites. If you follow the directions on the package, it should come out ok. I don't know if egg replacer would help; we've never used it... Really, just following the instructions should work for Pamela's. There's also a lot of recipes on her website...just google Pamela's Products. I also like Bob's Red Mill hearty bread mix.
Old 06-02-2010, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter