Baby reacting to peas? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 05-09-2011, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Okay, so my EBF 6 month old DS has had eczema for a couple months now. I have taken dairy, peanuts, citrus and strawberries out of my diet because he has seemed to have flare-ups after I ate those things. I am just beginning to give him some solids, and we are doing a combination of BLW and homemade purees. Yesterday, he had a couple baby spoonfuls of pureed green peas, and a few more this morning. This afternoon he started to get sort of fussy (which could very well be teething), had alot of stinky gas, then he had a BIG bm, some of which appeared a little mucousy and green. And this evening his face started breaking out around his mouth, and it was obviously itchy because he was rubbing it really hard with his little hands. I noticed when I changed his diaper for bedtime that the skin around his anus was really red, too. So, this all sounds like a reaction to the peas, right? He has only had pears and bananas before yesterday, and they didn't seem to bother him at all, except making his stools a little firmer. Do you think I should wait to introduce any other new foods until the bad patches clear up? Ugh...I'm so new to all this, and it's so frustrating because every time I think I have it under control, his skin breaks out all over again! 

Wife to my best friend partners.gif (8-7-04) and mama to my sweet Josiah James baby.gif (10-30-10)
#2 of 8 Old 05-09-2011, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter

Oh, and does this mean that I need to eliminate all legumes from my diet, too? Ack! I love my beans! :p

Wife to my best friend partners.gif (8-7-04) and mama to my sweet Josiah James baby.gif (10-30-10)
#3 of 8 Old 05-10-2011, 04:59 PM

Wait 'til it's cleared up to introduce any other new foods to his diet. 

Cut peas from your diet as well.

Are you avoiding soy already?  It's a legume.