Mothering Forum banner

Allergy to jeans? Is it formaldehyde or the dye?

26K views 8 replies 8 participants last post by  NancyMullins 
#1 ·
I bought a pair of Old Navy jeans and wore them for travelling on a long plane journey without washing them first. I have never done this before, as I have lots of allergies and am usually very careful about laundering new clothes (my known allergies are to latex, nickel, titanium dioxide, perfume and essential oils). When I arrived I had a swollen, red, itchy band on my skin just where the belt was pressing into my stomach. It was extremely painful (that'll teach me!). I assumed it was nickel in the belt buckle. I washed the jeans twice before wearing them again, this time without the belt, and the same thing happened. This time the rash is taking much longer to heal...this is the third day. What can it be? Is it likely to be formaldehyde still in the material after several washings, or the blue dye (the jeans are light blue)? I'm wondering whether I should get some more allergy testing done, as my skin seems generally to be more sensitive (I have eczema).

Any thoughts or info would be much appreciated.

#2 ·
If you hadn't washed them, then sizing could be a problem. It's like spray starch, and is meant to keep the integrity of the shape suitable for the store. Formaldehyde (is it in there?) would probably wash out of jeans faster. If you've never had problems with jeans before, then it's probably not the dye. Another possibility is that awful antibacterial stuff they put in clothes now. And though not likely to be on jeans, I know that my dd had a bad reaction to 3m Scotchguard in her new play shoes.

#5 ·