Allergy families: Share your thoughts - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-26-2011, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)

This forum can be so stressful!  I am a regular here because allergies rule our world, and I enjoy helping others with info and some perspective.  But yikes!  This is such a hard issue I feel that I just need to de-stress.  Not exactly vent, because we've been doing this for so long as a family.  But it never ends, does it?

I am an avid home baker who uncovered multiple allergies late in life, and it almost completely derailed my love of baking.  It did my love of cooking and recipes.  I just don't have the joy any more.  My daughter and I have competing allergies.  She can have soy and oats, but not wheat and dairy.  I can have wheat and (kind of some) dairy but not oats or soy.  (We have many, many other allergies besides.)  She can have buckwheat and lentils and navy beans.  I can't cook with garlic anymore.  It just doesn't cook away the troublesome compounds.  I can't have mushrooms anymore, I feel like they make me want to throw up.  

But I don't just want to vent.  We have had some great success.  We are eating more together as a family rather than the short order style that it was in the beginning.  Avoiding allergens has taught me some discipline I needed to lose 40 pounds.  I feel sooooo much better than 2 years ago.