Is it worth drawing blood to allergy test 12 month old? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 06-21-2012, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi! My son is 11 months old and has had eczema since he was about three weeks old. He clearly has food allergies- when I gave him a bite of yogurt at ten months old, his first dairy, he got red splotches on his face and broke out in hives on his hands and feet. I suspect wheat may be an issue, too, as well as who knows what ( he's still nursing and I have tried various elimination diets to help his eczema with no success). Anyway, pediatrician recommends testing his blood at one year old, but I have also heard it isn't accurate to test for allergies before three? Does anyone know if this is true? Anyone tested a one year old before? Thank you in advance for any responses, I am new to food allergies and don't want to put my baby through a painful ordeal if it isn't necessary.

:yawning: SAHM in with dd : 11/08 and ds joy.gif 7/11
#2 of 14 Old 06-22-2012, 05:48 AM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)

While immunity is constantly changing, I still am unsure where this 2 or 3 years for accurate testing comes from.  We testing at 14 months.  Please keep in mind that a positive test at ANY AGE is 50% accurate for a positive test so if it's positive but something your child has been eating with no issue there isn't a reason to take it out of his diet.  Do you have epipens?  I would be sure to have them with a reaction of hives.  

Eczema is only food related about 20% of the time. 

#3 of 14 Old 06-22-2012, 02:37 PM

I was told allergy tests before two are less accurate. You know dairy is an issue.