Help! 6 month old breaking out in hives - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 12-09-2012, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am new to allergies so please help guide me in which steps to take. My 6 month old has broken out in awful hives for the past 2 days. He has just started solids, but just tastings of sweet potato and avocado over the past week. I can't imagine it's one of these foods? Could it be environmental? I am suspecting perfume or kiwi fruit he touched. I am at a loss and just need advice on the next steps. He is EB.
Do I go to an allergist? A homeopath? Should I get an epi pen? What foods should I avoid? He did have excema on his legs but that cleared up. Rather keep that than hives greensad.gif
Also hives, is it instant reaction? I so, how long do they last? We got rid of the kiwi and the perfume was a guest but he still is experiencing breakouts 24/48 hours later.
#2 of 11 Old 12-10-2012, 08:36 AM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)

Avocado commonly triggers allergic reactions.  (And yes, so does kiwi).

Were the hives only where he had contact?  Or all over?  

Hives are not necessarily instantaneous, though more likely so with contact than with consumption.  Meaning, hives that erupt from having eaten an offending food are more likely to show up over extended periods of time than hives caused from skin contact with an allergen.  Your time frame sounds "normal".

I believe that avocado is one of the foods connected with latex cross-reactions.

Give me a few minutes while I caffeinate.
#3 of 11 Old 12-10-2012, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter

The hives were all over. Day 3 they seem milder. So 3 days of hives, all over from face to feet would be from consumption?
#4 of 11 Old 12-11-2012, 08:21 AM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)

I haven't heard of avocados being highly allergenic.  On the hippy Mama sites it always seems to be one of the first foods to introduce.