Hot red cheeks - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 01-01-2013, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello:) This is my first time posting on the allergy forum. I have a 2.5 year old son as well as a 2 month old daughter. I have always suspected that my son had some sort of food allergy or intolerance but also overwhelmed with trying to figure out what the culprit was. At 9 months he had horrible diarrhea that lasted a couple of months and we tried no dairy and gluten free very briefly and then were told it was probably just rotavirus. He eats a varied diet now with the regular 2 year old pickiness but he's a fan of pasta, breads, cheese and yogurt with the occasional glass of cows milk. He eats fruits ( but not tomato)and some vegetables. Over the holidays he ate a ridiculous amount of junk:( I have noticed lately that he will have one really red hot ear and now both cheeks are red and hot. He doesn't seem to be bothered or uncomfortable. I don't think it's fifths disease as he doesn't have the body rash. Could this be a food allergy or intolerance? In addition to the cheeks and ears, he is extremely hyperactive and LOUD (not suddenly, he has been this way as long as I can remember) I feel like its beyond what is normal for his age and wonder if that, too, could be caused by a food allergy.

Any ideas or feedback is greatly appreciated:)

Mama to Callahan 05/18/10 cold.gifteapot2.GIF
#2 of 3 Old 01-02-2013, 10:35 AM

Hello!

I do not have experience with the allergies, but when I saw the title of your post, I immediately thought of fifth disease.