Kicking myself - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 06-24-2005, 02:25 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am so kicking myself about a mistake I've been making for the last few months. I'm still relatively new at the avoiding-allergens thing since it's only been a few months since we got them all figured out. But anyway, we like to go out to eat at Chipotle since they actually have something for my daughter to eat, and my husband and I love their food. I had started to think that maybe she was allergic to beans or that they were causing super-gas or something since she was having bad nights after we ate it.

Then, we went there a few days ago and I noticed a gallon of milk on the counter in the kitchen area. I asked the server what they use the milk for and she told me it goes in the guacamole! : I've been feeding her the guacamole every time we go there!!!! So, no more guac for her - at least not unless it's homemade. I really need to learn to ask these questions more proactively.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-24-2005, 05:08 PM

I can totally relate. Just when you think you have a handle on it something else pops up. We have been so carefull with ds and his peanut allergy. He has had one horrible reaction since we found out about it. No products in the house and no eatting out. No problem, right? Wrong!
Last night we headed to the grocery store for a family outing (Sad, isn't it)
We were almost done when we remembered we needed popcorn. Right next to it were the peanuts and trailmix snacks. I didn't think much about it until two minutes later Ds started complaining his face itched. I looked at him and his eyes were bloodshot and his face was all red and splotchy. He had picked up a sealed container of peanuts.

After we got him dosed with Benadryl and made sure the reaction was over I started kicking myself too. Something so obvious.

Just be glad you asked and never stop asking.

Take care