Should I have my 2 year old tested for allergies? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 08-17-2005, 08:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My DS was in the hospital with a severe asthma attack a few months ago. His first one and so far, definitely the most severe. He has had some wheezing since then but it's been very rare and it goes away with two puffs of the inhalor. He has shown some signs of allergies. We have just given away our cats, because he would always sneeze after playing with them. He had a major reaction to peanut butter and we haven't given it to him since. But so far, that seems to be the only things that we have noticed him to be allergic to.

My question is- the doctor advised that we get him tested for allergies, but I hear that it is very painful and not very accurate. Is it worth it to do it now, or should I wait until he is a little older? Or should I look into other ways of testing?

This is my first time looking at this board- I am totally impressed with the experiences and support of the mothers here! Thanks for taking the time to tutor me on this! I feel so lost on this subject...

Mama to J and E .
#2 of 8 Old 08-17-2005, 09:25 PM