Pregnant w/ #2 - wwy eat/eliminate? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 08-28-2007, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Howdy! I'm 22 weeks along with #2. DD1 is highly allergic, so I've been very careful with my diet ever since she's been born. I've been educating myself for 4 years now in preparation for this pregnancy. I've been dairy and gluten-free for about 2 years. We now eat all organic, traditional foods.

Anyway, yesterday, DD handled some pecans for the first time, and I didn't make her wash her hands like I usually do. This girl has never eaten a nut, but she's been so much better that I had been considering trying her on a nut. But it was a careless mistake of mine to not have her wash her hands. She's handled walnuts plenty of times, but I always make her wash her hands.

So about 30 minutes later, she had a sneezing attack like you wouldn't believe, and her eyes swelled about 1/2 closed. It was horrible, and thank God for the Benadryl! I'm sure this was because she probably used her hands on her nose right about that time.

So this has me thinking - should I eliminate nuts from my diet? Naturally, I've eaten no peanuts or peanut products. I have not eliminated all of DD's allergens from my diet, just the dairy & gluten. I love to eat almonds & almond butter, and occasionally walnuts & pecans.

I know that this baby is starting out so much better than DD. Our entire diet changed when she was born, so I'm really praying that this baby does not suffer the same fate as DD. But with DD's terrible reaction to just touching the pecans, I'm wondering if I should eliminate nuts from my diet. :

What do y'all think? Thanks!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 08-28-2007, 06:33 PM