Mercury fillings breastfeeding todder, lots of questions - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 02-16-2011, 09:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am new to the mercury discussion so please bear with me if these have been discussed before.  I used to have four fillings in my mouth when pregnant with my son.  He was born with food sensitivity (gluten, dairy, and corn) but no behavioral issues.  Now I am wondering, are the food sensitivities related to the mercury exposure?

Unfortunately because I didn't know any better, when he was six months old and nursing I removed two of the mercury filling BY A REGULAR DENTIST  :(  I didn't have  a choice to remove them, one of the pieces fell off but I should have gone to a holistic dentist.  Fortunately I did not see a reaction in myself or my child.  When he was about fourteen months another one broke.  This time I knew better and went to a holistic dentist, he removed it as one chunk without drilling into it and told me I would not be exposed to any extra mercury (another holistic dentist confirmed this).  Is this true?  The reason I am asking is because I now need to remove the fourth one (you guessed it, a piece of my tooth broke).  I got all of these when I was 11 and I guess they are wearing out.  The dentist told me he can get it out in one chunk, is it safe to do so and still nurse?  If I do it, how soon after wards can I get pregnant (we are trying now).